APC Welcomes Supreme Court’s Verdicts, Charges Opposition To Respect Judiciary

National Publicity Secretary, APC, Barr. Felix Morka
Share this story.

By Akombo Aondona, Abuja

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) on Friday 12 January 2024 welcome the Supreme Court ruling in the governorship petitions involving Lagos, Zamfara,Kano, Plateau, Ebonyi, Bauchi, Abia and Cross Rivers States, calling on the opposition political parties to apologise over their alleged denigration of court judgments in the country.

In a statement in Abuja by its National Publicity Secretary, Barr Felix Morka, the APC said the rulings vindicated the party and President Bola Ahmed Tinubu stand on the rule of law and judicial independent in the country.

Morka wrote: “The All Progressives Congress (APC) welcomes, with equanimity, the Supreme Court decisions on election petitions challenging the outcome of 2023 governorship elections in eight states.

“In Lagos, Ebonyi and Cross River States, the Supreme Court upheld the election of Governorship Candidates of our great Party. However, the appeals on Kano, Zamfara, Bauchi, Plateau and Abia states were decided in favour of other political parties and their candidates. 

“While the Apex Court’s decisions will undoubtedly elicit mixed reactions and reviews, the decisions are final and binding on all parties to the legal contests. The decisions today provide a strong affirmation of the authority, vibrancy and independence of the Judiciary. 

“APC has been consistent in its position that the Judiciary must be left alone to perform its important duty of resolving disputes, including electoral disputes as constitutionally mandated. The decisions today must serve as a rebuke to political opposition figures that vilified and denigrated our courts when judgments were handed against them in these same matters.  Assuming that it has any spec of decency left, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) must tender unreserved apology to the courts and our judges for the senseless, irresponsible, reckless and unjustified attacks it mounted against the Judiciary throughout this electoral cycle. 

“We congratulate the winners, particularly our Governors, Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State, Francis Nwifuru of Ebonyi State, and Bassey Otu of Cross River State, and wish them the very best as they continue to serve their states and country. We urge everyone to remain calm and continue to maintain the peace.”

Share this story.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.