FCT Area Councils, Others Share N4.4 Billion

Minister of State for the FCT, Dr. Mariya Mahmoud
Share this story.

The Federal Capital Territory Administration has disbursed the sum of N4,439,259,692.78 billion to the six area councils and other stakeholders as statutory allocation for the month of January, 2024.

The amount represent a slight decline when compared to N4,816,227,915.56 billion shared in the month of December, 2023.

FCT Minister of State, Dr. Mariya Mahmoud, who presided over the 186th Joint Account Allocation Committee (JAAC), meeting, appreciated members for their steadfastness over the years.

However, a breakdown of the figures released during the JAAC meeting indicates that the sum of N1,974,953,351.98billion was made available for distribution to the six area councils, while the sum of N2,464,306,340.80billion was made available to other stakeholders, bringing the total sum to N4,439,259,692.78 billion.

Similarly, distributions to the six area councils shows that the Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), received N475,421,723.87 million, while Gwagwalada got N310,030,283,.46 million and Kuje received N327,514,383.83 million.

Other area councils include, Bwari Area Council which received N302,898,519.21million, Abaji got N254,139,116.13million while Kwali received N304,949,325.48million, bringing the total sum to N1,974,953,351.98billion disbursed to the six area councils.

On the other hand, distribution to other critical stakeholders include: Primary School Teachers which gulped N2,085,585,348.67billion, 15 percent Pension Funds took N226,478,989.57million, One percent Training Fund gulped N44,392,596.93million, while 10 percent Employer Pension Contribution gulped N107,849,405.63million, bringing the total sum to N2,464,306,340.80billion.

Those present at the 186th Joint Account Allocation Committee (JAAC) meeting include the Senior Special Assistant on Administration and Strategy to FCT Minister of State, Dr. Abdullahi Isah Kauramata, Mandate Secretary Area Council Services, Hon. Bitrus Garki, Director of Funds, Mrs. Anthonia Unigwe, and the Director of Finance and Administration in Area Council Secretariat, Mrs. Omolola Olanipekun.

Others include the Chairman of Abuja Municipal Area Council, Hon. Christopher Maikalagun, and representatives of the chairmen of Kwali area council, Kuje area council and Gwagwalada area council amongst others.

Share this story.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.