Governorship Elections: INEC Releases Candidates’ Details For Bayelsa, Imo, Kogi States

Barr. Okoye
Share this story.

By Akombo Aondona, Abuja

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has published the personal particulars of  candidates in the upcoming Bayelsa, Imo and Kogi governorship elections.

 In a statement on Thursday, 11 May 2023 in Abuja, National Commissioner and Chairman Information and Voters Education Committee, INEC, Barr Festus Okoye, disclosed that all 18 political parties nominated candidates for the governorship election in Kogi State while 17 parties are participating in the Bayelsa and Imo states’ elections.

Okoye wrote: “Nigerians may recall that on Tuesday 25th October 2022, the Commission released the Timetable and Schedule of Activities for the three off-cycle Governorship elections in Bayelsa, lmo and Kogi States holding on Saturday 11th November 2023.

“Political parties conducted their primaries as required by law and uploaded the names and personal particulars of their candidates and running mates to the INEC candidate nomination portal by the deadline of 6.00pm on 5th May 2023.

“All the 18 political parties have nominated candidates for the Kogi Governorship election and 17 parties for Bayelsa and Imo States. All the political parties sponsoring candidates for the three elections have submitted the duly completed Forms EC9 containing personal particulars supported by sworn affidavits as well as EC9B containing the names of their candidates.

“As required by section 29 (3) of the Electoral Act 2022, the Commission shall publish the personal particulars of the candidates in the State Headquarters and Local Government offices in the three States tomorrow Friday 12th May 2023. 

“We appeal to Nigerians to scrutinise the list. In particular, any aspirant who participated in his/her party’s primaries with reasonable grounds to believe that the information provided by the candidate is false can challenge the nomination at the Federal High Court as provided in section 29(5) of the Electoral Act 2022.”

Share this story.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.