Guber Race Update: Labour’s Otti Triumphs in Abia Duel, Mbah Floors Edeoga for PDP In Enugu

Share this story.

Stragglers Adamawa, Kebbi Up For Rerun

By Our Reporters

The gubernatorial elections in Abia and Enugu states have been resolved finally, with the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declaring Dr. Alex Otti of the Labour Party (LP) winner in Abia and Mr Peter Mbah of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) triumphant in Enugu.

 Violence in both states had forced INEC to suspend collation of results in both states some days ago.

 The perennial runner, Otti, polled 175,467 votes to defeat his closest rival, Chief Okey Ahiwe of the ruling People’s Democratic Party, who scored 88,529 votes.

   With this victory, Otti’s LP has claimed its first state in the 2023 General Elections, which about sums up the party’s biggest achievement in this year’s elections, having lost all other governorship contested it fielded candidates in about 28 states of the federation and the presidency.

 Only two states – Adamawa and Kebbi – are left to produce their governors, elections having been declared “inconclusive” in the two states by INEC. The electoral commission is expected to hold the rerun polls in both states in weeks. The candidates of LP are not in contention in both states, hence it is safe to say that the Abia victory is the only and last one the party can secure in this year’s elections, a win got on the waves of the so-called “Obidient Movement” built around the LP Presidential Candidate, Mr. Peter Obi.

 In Enugu, Mba of the PDP won his bruising battle with Chief Chijioke Edeoga of the LP by polling 160,895 votes to Edeoga’s157,552 votes. 

Below are all 26 states declared by INEC:

Abia State

WINNER:  Dr. Alex Otti (LP); 175,467 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Chief Okey Ahiwe (PDP) 88,529 Votes

Enugu State

WINNER:  Mr Peter Mbah (PDP); 175,467 Votes:

Runner-Up: Chief Chijioke Edeoga (LP) 157,552 Votes

Taraba State

WINNER: Mr. Agbu Kefas (PDP); 257,926 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Prof. Sani Yahaya (NNPP) 202,277Votes

 Zamfara State

WINNER: Malam Dauda Lawal (PDP); 377,726 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Gov. Bello Matawalle (APC) 311,976 Votes

Rivers State

WINNER: Mr. Siminialayi Fubara (PDP); 302,614 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Mr. Tonye Cole (APC) 95,274 Votes

Kaduna State

WINNER: Malam Uba Sani (APC); 730,002 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Isa Ashiru (PDP) 719,196  Votes

Borno State

WINNER: Babagana Zulum (APC); 545,542 Votes:

Runner-Up:   Mohammed Jajari (PDP) 82,147 Votes

Benue State

WINNER: Fr. Hyacinth Alia (APC); 473,933 Votes:

Runner-Up:    Mr Titus Uba (APC) 223,913 Votes

Delta State

WINNER: Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori (PDP); 360,234 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Ovie Omo-Agege (APC) 240,229 Votes

Niger State

WINNER: Umar Mohammed Bago (APC); 469,896 Votes

Runner-Up: Isah Liman Kantigi (PDP) 387,476 Votes

Cross River

WINNER: Sen. Bassey Otu (APC); 258, 619Votes

Runner-Up: Sen. Sandy Onor(PDP) 179,636 Votes

Ebonyi State

WINNER: Hon. Francis Nwifuru (APC); 199,131 Votes

Runner-Up: Mr Ifeanyichukwuma Odii (PDP) 80,191 Votes

Plateau State

WINNER: Caleb Mutfwang (PDP); 525, 299 Votes

Runner-Up: Nentawe Yilwatda (APC) 481, 370 Votes

Akwa Ibom

WINNER: Pastor Umo Bassey Eno (PDP); 356,346 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Senator Bassey Akpan, Young Progressive Party (YPP); 136,262 Votes

Katsina State

WINNER: Dr Dikko Radda (APC); 859,892 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Senator Yakubu Lado (PDP); 486,260 Votes

Yobe State

WINNER: Mai Mala Buni (APC); 317,113 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Alhaji Sharif Abdulahi (PDP); 104,259 Votes

Lagos State

WINNER: Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu (APC); 762,134 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour, Labour Party (LP); 312,329 Votes

Gombe State

WINNER: Gov. Inuwa Yahaya (APC); 342,821 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Muhammad Barde (PDP); 233,131 Votes

Kwara State

WINNER: Gov. Abdulraham Abdulrasak (APC); 273,424 Votes:

Runner-Up: Alhaji Yaman Abdullahi (PDP); 155,490 Votes

Ogun State

WINNER: Gov. Dapo Abiodun (APC); 276,298 Votes:

Runner-Up: Chief Oladipupo Adebutu (PDP); 262,383 Votes

Oyo State

WINNER: Gov. Seyi Makinde (PDP); 563,756 Votes:

Runner-Up: Sen. Teslim Folarin (APC); 256,685 Votes

Nasarawa State

WINNER: Gov. Abdullahi Sule (APC); 347,209  Votes:

Runner-Up: Dr David Emmanuel Ombugadu (PDP); 283,016 Votes

Kano State

WINNER: Alhaji Abba Kabir Yusuf (NNPP); 1,019,602 Votes:

Runner-Up: Alhaji Nasiru Yusuf Gawuna (APC); 890,705 Votes

Bauchi State

WINNER: Bala Mohammed (PDP); 525,280 Votes:

Runner-Up: Air Marshal Sadique Baba Abubakar (rtd) (APC); 283,000Votes

Sokoto State

WINNER: Aliyu Ahmed (APC); 453,661Votes:

Runner-Up: Umar Saidu (PDP); 404,632 Votes

Jigawa State

WINNER: Alhaji Namadi Dammodi (APC); 618,449 Votes:

Runner-Up: Alhaji Mustapha Sule-Lamido (PDP); 368,726 Votes

Share this story.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.