Guber Race Update: Shocker In Zamfara, Stalemate In Adamawa, PDP Wins Rivers, APC Bags Kaduna…And More

Share this story.

By Our Reporters

The 2023 governorship elections continue to provide stunning upsets as the results from more states came in overnight.

The latest shock of the late arrival is the Zamfara State election where the incumbent Governor, Bello Matawalle, of the All Progressives Congress (APC) lost to a new kid on the block, Malam Dauda Lawal, of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

  According the results called by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) early morning Tuesday, 21 March, 2023 Lawal polled 377,726 votes to defeat Matawalle who scored 311,976 votes.

  The Kaduna cliffhanger has also been resolved with Malam Uba Sani of the APC winning the state with 730,002 votes to beat Isa Ashiru of the PDP who received 719,196 votes.

 Also, Governor Nyesom Wike has succeeded in installing his preferred candidate, Siminialayi Fubara of the PDP, as his successor in Rivers State.

   Fubara polled 302,614 votes to defeat Mr. Tonye Cole of the APC who scored 95,274 votes.

  Similarly, Mr. Agbu Kefas of the PDP has triumphed in Taraba. Kefas polled 257,926 votes to defeat Prof. Sani Yahaya, of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) who scored 202,277.

   A stalemate is the situation in Adamawa as INEC declared the gubernatorial election in that state inconclusive. Currently the results of the two leading candidates stand at Governor Ahmadu Fintiri (PDP, 421,524 votes) and Hajiya Aisha Binani (APC, 390, 275)

INEC, on Monday, suspended declaration of results in Abia and Enugu states. The commission also declared an inconclusive election in Kebbi State.

Below are the states so far declared by INEC:  

Taraba State

WINNER: Mr. Agbu Kefas (PDP); 257,926 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Prof. Sani Yahaya (NNPP) 202,277Votes

 Zamfara State

WINNER: Malam Dauda Lawal (PDP); 377,726 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Gov. Bello Matawalle (APC) 311,976 Votes

Rivers State

WINNER: Mr. Siminialayi Fubara (PDP); 302,614 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Mr. Tonye Cole (APC) 95,274 Votes

Kaduna State

WINNER: Malam Uba Sani (APC); 730,002  Votes:

Runner-Up:  Isah Ashiru (PDP) 719,196  Votes

Borno State

WINNER: Babagana Zulum (APC); 545,542 Votes:

Runner-Up:   Mohammed Jajari (PDP) 82,147 Votes

Benue State

WINNER: Fr. Hyacinth Alia (APC); 473,933 Votes:

Runner-Up:    Mr Titus Uba (APC) 223,913 Votes

Delta State

WINNER: Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori (PDP); 360,234 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Ovie Omo-Agege (APC) 240,229 Votes

Niger State

WINNER: Umar Mohammed Bago (APC); 469,896 Votes

Runner-Up: Isah Liman Kantigi (PDP) 387,476 Votes

Cross River

WINNER: Sen. Bassey Otu (APC); 258, 619Votes

Runner-Up: Sen. Sandy Onor(PDP) 179,636 Votes

Ebonyi State

WINNER: Hon. Francis Nwifuru (APC); 199,131 Votes

Runner-Up: Mr Ifeanyichukwuma Odii (PDP) 80,191 Votes

Plateau State

WINNER: Caleb Mutfwang (PDP); 525, 299 Votes

Runner-Up: Nentawe Yilwatda (APC) 481, 370 Votes

Akwa Ibom

WINNER: Pastor Umo Bassey Eno (PDP); 356,346 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Senator Bassey Akpan, Young Progressive Party (YPP); 136,262 Votes

Katsina State

WINNER: Dr Dikko Radda (APC); 859,892 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Senator Yakubu Lado (PDP); 486,260 Votes

Yobe State

WINNER: Mai Mala Buni (APC); 317,113 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Alhaji Sharif Abdulahi (PDP); 104,259 Votes

Lagos State

WINNER: Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu (APC); 762,134 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour, Labour Party (LP); 312,329 Votes

Gombe State

WINNER: Gov. Inuwa Yahaya (APC); 342,821 Votes:

Runner-Up:  Muhammad Barde (PDP); 233,131 Votes

Kwara State

WINNER: Gov. Abdulraham Abdulrasak (APC); 273,424 Votes:

Runner-Up: Alhaji Yaman Abdullahi (PDP); 155,490 Votes

Ogun State

WINNER: Gov. Dapo Abiodun (APC); 276,298 Votes:

Runner-Up: Chief Oladipupo Adebutu (PDP); 262,383 Votes

Oyo State

WINNER: Gov. Seyi Makinde (PDP); 563,756 Votes:

Runner-Up: Sen. Teslim Folarin (APC); 256,685 Votes

Nasarawa State

WINNER: Gov. Abdullahi Sule (APC); 347,209  Votes:

Runner-Up: Dr David Emmanuel Ombugadu (PDP); 283,016 Votes

Kano State

WINNER: Alhaji Abba Kabir Yusuf (NNPP); 1,019,602 Votes:

Runner-Up: Alhaji Nasiru Yusuf Gawuna (APC); 890,705 Votes

Bauchi State

WINNER: Bala Mohammed (PDP); 525,280 Votes:

Runner-Up: Air Marshal Sadique Baba Abubakar (rtd) (APC); 283,000Votes

Sokoto State

WINNER: Aliyu Ahmed (APC); 453,661Votes:

Runner-Up: Umar Saidu (PDP); 404,632 Votes

Jigawa State

WINNER: Alhaji Namadi Dammodi (APC); 618,449 Votes:

Runner-Up: Alhaji Mustapha Sule-Lamido (PDP); 368,726 Votes

Share this story.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.