Tinubu Demands Integrity, Results As Ministers Take Office

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu
Share this story.

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has charged all ministers in his cabinet to restore public trust in government through performance in office by delivering on his “Renewed Hope Agenda” promptly.

The President issued the charge on Monday, 21 August 2023 in Aso Rock, Abuja during the swearing-in ceremony of his ministers.

Acknowledging the high expectations on the streets of Nigeria for his government to deliver on his campaign promises and particularly come up with solutions to severe socio-economic challenges nationwide, President Tinubu told the ministers that he would hold them accountable to produce results as fast as possible and meet the yearnings of Nigerians.

The President said: “I know you and I delegate this authority, but the greatest number of Nigerians are highly expectant of delivery, accountability, and transparency. Nigerians expect that you will act with integrity, dignity, and deliver. I will hold you to that standard we all promised Nigerians.

“It’s all about a great team, and I believe we have them here. It is a high honour to be chosen to serve as a minister in the Federal Executive Council of our beloved republic, and with such a high honour comes tremendous responsibility.”

President Tinubu continued: “In this moment of abundant promise and peril in equal measure, all of you who have been sworn in have been called to distinguish yourselves.

“Your assignment begins immediately. As your country honours you today with this call to service, you must each work to make yourself worthy in the eyes of God and all our nation’s people.

“Your highest obligation is to restore public faith in government so that our people can once again believe that the right hands in government can be a positive force for transformation and a vehicle for the collective progress of this country.”

Forty-five ministers were sworn in at the event. They included former Rivers State Governor Nyesom Wike, who is the Minister of Federal Capital Territory (FCT) and Festus Keyamo as Minister of Aviation.

Other ministers are Wale Edun (Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy), Adegboyega Oyetola (Transportation), David Umahi (Works), Festus Keyamo (Aviation and Aerospace Development), and Betta Edu (Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation).

Share this story.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.